Iceland Cricket Unveil Their 2022 World T20I XI; Virat Kohli & Babar Azam open the innings

As the year 2022 draws to a close, Icelandic cricket announced their World T20 XI with the cricketers who impressed with their performances this year. Iceland went with up to four players from India and one each from England, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Australia and Ireland.

Starting with the openers, Iceland chose the two most consistent batters in cricket in the world – Virat Kohli and Babar Azam. Notably, Kohli, who has already reached legendary status, is the highest run scorer in T20I’s history. The Indian superstar has more than 4000 runs to his credit from 115 matches at an outstanding average of 52.73, including one hundred and 37 half centuries. When it comes to 2022, Kohli has scored 781 runs in 20 games, at an average of 55.78, using a century and 8 fifties.

Likewise, Babar was also quite exceptional in the shortest format. The Lahore-born batsman has more than 3500 runs to his credit in 99 matches. In terms of 2022, the Pakistani skipper has scored 735 points from 26 matches including a ton and five fifties.

After Kohli and Babar, Iceland chose New Zealander Glen Phillips and Indian batting sensation Suryakumar Yadav at number three and four respectively. Surya has been phenomenal since his debut for Team India. The right-handed batter is the only player to score more than 1000 runs this year. He has amassed 1164 runs from 31 matches at an average of 46.56 using two centuries and nine half tons. When it comes to Phillips, the wicketkeeper-batter has 716 runs to his name this year in the shortest format in 21 matches, including one hundred and six fifties.

Responsibility as captain has been transferred to England’s cue ball skipper Josh Butler. However, he had an average year in which he scored 462 runs from 15 games, including four fifties. However, his captaincy was excellent as England recently won the T20 World Cup under Buttler’s management.

Iceland went along Hardik Pandaya and Sikandar Raza as all-rounders, while Wanindu Hasaranga was chosen as the specialized spinner. Raza scored 735 runs in 24 matches this year with a strike rate of 150, including five half-centuries and also took 24 wickets. Similarly, Hardik hit 607 runs in 27 matches with a strike rate of nearly 146 and picked up 20 scalps. Hasaranga, on the other hand, took 34 wickets in 19 matches.

As for the pace battery, Iceland mentioned India’s Bhuvneswar KumarAustralia Josh Hazlewood and that of Ireland Joshua Klein. Notably, Little is the second highest wicket taker this year with 39 scalps from 26 matches. Similarly, Bhuvneshwar has taken 37 wickets and Hazlewood has taken 26 scalps.

Iceland Cricket’s World T20I XI of 2022:

Babar Azam, Virat Kohli, Glenn Phillips, Suryakumar Yadav, Jos Buttler (c/wk), Hardik Pandya, Sikandar Raza, Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Josh Hazelwood, Joshua Little.

#Iceland #Cricket #Unveil #World #T20I #Virat #Kohli #Babar #Azam #open #innings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker