2024 Copa America will be hosted in the United States

The 2024 Copa America tournament is coming to the US for the second time in the competition’s history. Rumors have been circulating in recent months that the USMNT were among the competitors after American midfielder Tyler Adams dropped a major hint.

Hosting was an option. Now it’s a fact.

CONMEBOL and CONCACAF have officially announced an agreement for the 2024 version of the Copa America. In the partnership, all 10 CONMEBOL teams play in the tournament in the United States. This includes Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela. In addition to these countries, six CONCACAF teams will also participate in the tournament.

Six CONCACAF countries involved in the 2024 Copa America in the US

The six CONCACAF teams will have to qualify for the competition through the 2023/24 Nations League. So is the USMNT, despite the United States hosting the tournament. That edition of the Nations League will start this fall.

“CONMEBOL and CONCACAF are united by historical and affective ties,” explained CONMEBOL President Alejandro Dominguez. “But above all, we are united by the passion, characteristic of all of America, for football and sports.”

“We are determined to renew and expand our joint initiatives and projects. We want this passion to translate into more and better competitions and for football and its values ​​to grow and strengthen throughout the hemisphere. Undoubtedly, both confederations believe in big and we will work with this orientation.

Fans in the United States who want to watch can do so on FOX Sports and TUDN. FOX holds many of the international rights for US TV broadcasts and you can continue watching fuboTV or other streaming providers that carry the channels.

Watch Copa America 2024 on fuboTV

Includes: Premier League, Gold Cup and more

Free 7-day trial
Women’s Gold Cup will also include CONMEBOL teams

The agreement between the two confederations also covers women’s football. CONCACAF invited the top four CONMEBOL national teams to participate in the Women’s Gold Cup 2024. These four teams are Brazil, Colombia, Argentina and Paraguay. The United States is the host country for this tournament, in addition to the Copa America 2024.

“This is a partnership to support the continued growth of men’s and women’s football in CONCACAF and CONMEBOL and will truly be of mutual benefit to both confederations,” said CONCACAF President Victor Montagliani.

“In partnership with CONMEBOL, we will deliver elite leagues that give our federations more opportunities and that we know passionate fans want to see. We look forward to working together to ensure that football continues to thrive in both regions.”

New club tournament in the making

In addition to the Copa America and Women’s Gold Cup, CONACAF and CONMEBOL are also introducing a new club tournament. In this competition, the top two clubs from each confederation compete against each other in a final of four. Details of the new tournament will be finalized in the near future. However, there are plans to play this competition in 2024 as well.

PHOTO: IMAGO / Sport press photo

#Copa #America #hosted #United #States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker